Geof Tyrrell Best Game Prize 2010


For its inaugural year the prize has been awarded to Richard Jones for his draw against the Indian GM Chanda Sandipan (FIDE Rating: 2641) in the European Club Cup, October 2010.

Hard on the heels of this game was Charles Morris’ fine attacking win over IM Maxim Devereaux (2387) in the 4NCL. Jason Garcia’s draw against GM Michael Hoffman (2510), also in the European Club Cup, was a good third.

The judges, Stuart Hutchings, Dave James and Howard Williams, identified 12 games which met the critieria for the award (FIDE-rated games won or drawn by Welsh players against non-Welsh opponents rated 2250 or over and with a rating advantage of at least 150 points). One of these games was also submitted in response to the request for nominations.

From the short list of three, Richard’s game was chosen unanimously, a truly mind-bending Sicilian where the super-GM (as Black) spurned a draw by perpetual check. Richard had already sacrificed one piece and now gave up another to further his attack but did not quite succeed in nailing his resourceful opponent.

Nomination are now invited for the 2011 award.

Welsh Champion





Welsh Ladies

Home Director ~ Kevin Staveley